U.S. Announces New Sanctions against Cuba, Venezuela and Nicaragua

By Bruce Zagaris On April 17, 2019, the United States government announced new sanctions against Cuba, Venezuela, and Nicaragua. In a Miami speech, National Security Advisor John Bolton announced the Trump administration is reimposing limits on the amount of money Cuban Americans can send to relatives in Cuba and ordering new restrictions on U.S. citizen, nonfamily travel to Cuba.  In a Miami speech last November, Bolton referred to the three countries as the “Troika of Tyranny.” in his new speech, Bolton called them “the three stooges of socialism.” Also on April 17, Secretary of State Mike Pompeo said the administration will remove restrictions that have prevented lawsuits from U.S. citizens seeking compensation for property expropriated by the Cuban governments when it came to power in 1958. Venezuela OFAC designated Banco Central de Venezuela, or the Central Bank of Venezuela, pursuant to E.O. 13850, as amended, for operating in the financial…

Read more detail on Recent Administrative Law posts –

This entry was posted in Administrative law and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply