It’s a Full Slate for the FTC

It appears increasingly likely that for probably the first time since the FTC was established, we will have five new Commissioners in the same calendar year. Just to quickly recap, the FTC has five seats, only two of which are currently filled. Commissioner McSweeny’s term has already expired, while Acting Chairman Ohlhausen has been nominated for a position on the federal bench. Commissioners are nominated by the President and confirmed by the Senate for a term of seven years, subject to the rule that no more than three Commissioners may be from the same political party. The President also designates who is to serve as Chairman. Note that the seven-year terms are set rather than running from when an individual is confirmed so that some of the nominees will fill remaining shorter terms. Four individuals have been nominated and voted out of Committee while the Trump administration just announced its intent to nominate the fifth Commissioner. We provide a brief overview of…

Read more detail on Recent Advertising Law posts –

This entry was posted in Advertising Law and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply