DHS Grants Temporary Extension of TPS for Four Countries

Based on a preliminary injunction issued in Ramos v. Nielsen, a pending federal court case, the Department of Homeland Security (DHS) has extended temporary protected status (TPS) for four countries: Sudan, Nicaragua, Haiti, and El Salvador. Consistent with the court order, DHS has published its plan for compliance in the Federal Register. Sudanese TPS holders originally were scheduled for their TPS to expire on November 3, 2018, and that of Nicaraguan TPS holders was set to expire on January 5, 2019. DHS automatically has extended TPS status for individuals from both of these countries until April 2, 2019. DHS Grants Temporary Extension of TPS for Four Countries DHS has not yet issued a further extension for TPS holders from either Haiti or El Salvador, as those TPS designations are not set to expire until July 22, 2019 and September 9, 2019, respectively. However, DHS indicated that it would issue further guidance as needed pending the duration of the litigation. So long as…

Read more detail on Recent Immigration Law posts –

This entry was posted in Immigration law and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply