Clients often call me and say that they want a divorce and they want it fast. I explain that the State of Connecticut has a mandatory 90-day waiting period before a court can issue a decree of dissolution (divorce). They often argue and tell me they want the divorce faster. It's a simple divorce, after all. Can't I just tell the court to forget about the waiting period? Um, no I can't inform a judge that hey, my client wants this divorce yesterday so why not just pretend the statute doesn't require you to wait 90 days before issuing a decree. I'm sure the judge would hold me in contempt. Or maybe just laugh me out of the courtroom. I refer clients to the pertinent statutory section: Sec. 46b-67. (Formerly Sec. 46-44). Waiting period. Effect of decree. (a) Following the expiration of ninety days after the day on which a complaint for dissolution or legal separation is made returnable … the court may proceed on the complaint …. You'd be surprised how many people argue with me about the statute, as if I happened to have been sitting on the legislature when it was written. Sorry folks, I'm just a lowly lawyer who has to obey the statutes. I don't write them. If you want to obtain a divorce in Connecticut, you have to wait 90 days before a court can go forward on the complaint. Be patient! copyright 2011 Irene C. Olszewski ———— Disclaimer: The information, comments and links posted on the blog do not constitute legal advice. I will not respond to any specific legal questions in the comments section of this blog. Read my entire disclaimer.
Read more detail on Recent Family Law Posts –Legal notice about the The 90 Day Waiting Period for Divorce in Connecticut rubric : Hukuki Net Legal News is not responsible for the privacy statements or other content from Web sites outside of the Hukuki.net site. Please refer the progenitor link to check the legal entity of this resource hereinabove.
Do you need High Quality Legal documents or forms related to The 90 Day Waiting Period for Divorce in Connecticut?