Tag Archives: 2019

CMS Proposes Payment and Policy Changes Impacting SNFs for FY 2019 – Plus a New “Patient-Driven Payment Model” Case Mix System for FY 2020

The Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) has issued its annual proposed update to Medicare skilled nursing facility (SNF) PPS rates and policies for fiscal year (FY) 2019. In addition to providing a $850 million boost to Medicare payments … Continue reading

Posted in Health Law | Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

Oregon Shifts Heavy Equipment Personal Property Tax Burden to Contractors starting in 2019

Large and small heavy equipment rental providers throughout the state of Oregon recently scored a huge victory when Governor Brown signed HB 4139 into law earlier last month. The new law replaces Oregon’s existing personal property tax system for heavy … Continue reading

Posted in Tax Law | Tagged , , , , , , , , , | Leave a comment

H-1B Lottery Updates for FY 2019

Congratulations to those of our readers who won the H-1B visa lottery for fiscal year 2019. If your checks were not cashed between April 1 and May 3, unfortunately you were not selected in the lottery for the upcoming fiscal … Continue reading

Posted in Immigration law | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

CFP: IVR 2019 – Lucerne, Switzerland

The International Association for Philosophy of Law and Social Philosophy (IVR) invites proposals for its 29th World Congress to be held at the University of Lucerne on July 7-13, 2019. The theme is Dignity, Democracy, and Diversity. Proposals for both … Continue reading

Posted in Law Librarians | Tagged , , | Leave a comment

Temporary Protected Status for Nepal to End in June 2019

Temporary Protected Status (TPS) for 9,000 Nepalis nationals who have been living in the United States since 2015 will terminate as of June 24, 2019. The Secretary of DHS Kirstjen Neilsen stated, “[T]he disruption of living conditions in Nepal from … Continue reading

Posted in Immigration law | Tagged , , , , , | Leave a comment